Hosted by Woodcraft
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

Introductions Options
JordanClarke
Posted: Tuesday, May 7, 2019 11:54:56 AM
Groups: Member

Hello Fellow Woodshop Teachers!

My name is Jordan Clarke. I am a fourth year shop teacher in Bellflower, California. I came to this profession after many years owning my own cabinet shop, but seeking a lower stress and more stable cash flow way of life (including retirement). I love being a shop teacher. It's the best job I've ever had!

I joined this forum hoping to find others like me and share experiences and learning. I am always looking for ways to improve my craft both as a woodworker and as a teacher. As fun as the job is, like everything, it has its ups and downs; its challenges. I've never met a piece of wood that I didn't get along with, but kids, that's a different story.

I hope to get to know you all and that we can all learn and grow together. I also hope that others on here will respond and introduce themselves so I can get to know you all as well.
tbockman
Posted: Wednesday, May 8, 2019 9:45:59 AM

Welcome Jordan! When I first came to this forum, it was alive with activity. That was well before the economic downturn. Many woodworking programs have since been shut down and many teachers I have known over the years have disappeared. Sometimes they will say they are going into retirement and sometimes it is simply that the program has been cut. Look at how long it has been since the last post besides my own. Nearly 8 months.

I started hearing from some of the many math or science teachers who were asked by their Principal to restart woodworking at their school after years of neglect. They often get into the shop and find it is almost too far gone and there are difficulties getting machines to work properly or finding materials on outdated budgets, so they are looking for ideas. I'm trying to help as much as I can by posting here.