Hosted by Woodcraft
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

High School Curriculum Options
gregpauls
Posted: Monday, September 08, 2008 11:10:06 PM
Groups: Member

I am new to teaching woodworking and am searching out suppliers for curriculum. I have beginners only it would have to be pretty basic entry level stuff. It would like it to include day plans, projects as well as tests. Any suggestions?
Mike Walsh
Posted: Tuesday, September 09, 2008 10:46:34 AM

There are several university affiliated educational research centers that publish curriculum guides. Two that stand out in Industrial Ed / TechEd are the Instructional Materials Laboratory, Columbia MO http://iml.missouri.edu and the Oklahoma CIMC, Stillwater OK www.okcimc.com. Both have good guides but sometimes the guides can get a little old. Also, for a topic like woodworking you need to check the intended grade level and "area" for the guide. Picking up a guide keyed to the Adult Ed / Agricultural Education / Woodworking standards may not do you any good.

The major textbook companies make every effort ensure that their texts conform to the many state curriculum standards developed by CA, FL, GA, TX... (called State Adoption Standards) These tend to be fairly uniform, grade specific and authoritative. Publishers supply the state adoption committee with a document - loosely called "correlations". This tells you item by item if the text covers the material called for in the state standards. Some states post the correlations on line, some have a place you can order them - and some of the strictly vocational publishers may make them available to you (for a nominal fee).