Hosted by Woodcraft
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

shop tools Options
henryj
Posted: Saturday, January 10, 2009 9:19:56 PM
Groups: Member

I am a middle school math/science teacher who in his younger days worked as a carpenter building houses. I have, therefore, been tapped to teach woodshop at the school I'm currently at. It has a reasonable sized shop with a fair set of major power tools. My students will by and large have never held a hammer in their hands. My question is: What should a shop like this have in the way of hand tools, powered and non-powered?
Jeffseiver
Posted: Saturday, January 10, 2009 10:08:52 PM

Loaded question. Have you taught shop very long? Is your school located in the inner city or rurally? How many kids per class are they giving you? Personally I have found that middle school kids should be taught hand tools only with the first three projects and then eased into machine tools in a stepped process. I don't think that you should have them use a joiner or large planner at all. The table saw should be restricted also for you to make specific cuts for them. A smaller size band saw is advisable too. Be prepared for lots of broken blades and dismantled tools. Also be prepared for behavior and disapline problems. Roll with the punches and don't lose heart. You will find a way that fits your style. If you want some small projects and ideas send me your mailing address at Jeffseiver@aol.com
klandin
Posted: Sunday, January 11, 2009 12:06:02 PM